Mt. Vernon Register-News


August 14, 2013

Deadlines set for primary election

MT. VERNON — Election season is upon us.

The Illinois State Board of Elections and Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder Connie Simmons has released election information deadlines for the March 18, 2014 General Primary Election.

Local positions up for election during the Primary are county-wide offices; County Board District 1, District 6, District 7, District 8, District 10 and District 11; and Precinct Committeemen, information from Simmons states.

"Petitions may be circulated beginning Tuesday, Sept. 3, 2013, 90 days before the last day to file, and may be picked up in my office on or after that date," information from Simmons states. "County Offices up for nomination are County Clerk, County Treasurer, Sheriff ... All Precinct Committeemen will be up for election. There are a minimum number of signatures you must obtain from Jefferson County registered voters of your political party."

County-wide office candidates who are Democrats are required to have 65 signatures from voters of their party; Republican candidates must have 63 signatures; and independents will need 830 signatures.

"Petition forms may be photocopied, but must have original signatures, addresses and city," Simmons further states. "There is no limit to the number of signatures you may submit. You are urged to submit more than the minimum number to prevent signature challenges. The top part of each petition signature page must be completed before it is circulated for signatures. Each signature page should have identical information at the top."

Names will appear on the ballot exactly as shown inside the box on the Statement of Candidacy form submitted by the candidates.

"You should ensure your name is listed the same way on the Statement of Candidacy, each petition page, and optional Loyalty Oath," information states.

Those considering a run for County Board district seats should know the terms for which they will be running, after re-districting changed terms effective in 2012. District 1 is a two year term and covers Casner, Grand Prarie and Rome 2 precincts; District 6 is a two year term and covers Dodds 1 and Dodds 2 precincts; District 7 is a two year term and covers Bald Hill, Elk Prairie, Spring Garden 1 and Spring Garden 2 precincts; District 8 is a two year term and covers Moores Prairie, Pendleton and Webber 1 precincts; District 10 is a two year term and covers Shiloh 3 and Shiloh 4 west of 34th Street; and District 11 is a two year term and covers Mt. Vernon 8, Mt. Vernon 9 and Shiloh 4 east of 34th Street.

Simmons said new voter registration cards were mailed Aug. 8, and registered voters are urged to check their name, address and districts for correct information.

Those with questions about the petitions, or voter registration may contact the office of the Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder at 244-8020.

Text Only

Local Photo