Mt. Vernon Register-News


January 10, 2014

Bluford School gets tech loan

MT. VERNON — Bluford Grade School is one of 22 schools statewide to receive funds from the School Technology Revolving Loan program.

“We’re very grateful to be able to offer districts these loans,” stated Christopher A. Koch, State Superintendent of Education. “It’s essential we ensure students gain experience working with the technology and tools that will help build 21st-century skills. Today’s students are tomorrow’s workers in an economy driven by technology.”

The loan program, which is administered by the Illinois State Board of Education, is a three year loan with a 2 percent interest rate. Districts repay the loan in six payments, due two times a year. According to information from ISBE, districts which meet criteria set by law are selected to participate in the loan program on a first-come, first-serve basis contingent on the balance of the fund, which fluctuates based on repayment schedules. A formula dictates the maximum amount districts can receive based on enrollment, and some districts request fewer funds than the maximum allowed.

Loans may be used for equipment and wiring for installation and upgrading local and wide area networks and for network hardware; supplies and labor costs for electrical work directly related to technology; computer hardware used for classroom instruction and/or staff development; other technology hard-

ware investments that directly relate to staff development and classroom instruction; staff development directly related to the integration of technology into the learning environment; and computer furniture, not to exceed 10 percent of the loan.

Bluford Grade School will receive $50,000 from the program.

Other schools which will receive funds are: River Trails School District, $219,400; Lemont-Bromberek Combined School District, $366,350; Woodstock Community Unit School District, $325,000; Clay City CUSD 10, $56,650; Waterloo District 5, $300,100; Mundelein 75, $265,450; Lockport Elementary, $125,800; Peoria Heights $100,000; Sycamore District 427, $402,700; Sangamon Valleny District 9, $36,000; Forrestville Valley School, $112,750; Rockdale School District, $64,450; Pawnee Distict 11, $30,000; LaMoille, $53,200; Winnebago, $165,100; Hinckley-Big Rock District 429, $97,600; Casey-Westfield, $117,700; Robinson, $178,900; Sandwich, $238,750; and Kansas Community Unit District 3, $49,450.

Text Only

Local Photo