Mt. Vernon Register-News


October 8, 2013

Local teachers recognized

Three teachers from District 80 honored by ISBE

MT. VERNON — — The Illinois State Board of Education has announced the winners of the annual Those Who Excel awards.

Mt. Vernon City Schools District 80 boasts three who are being honored — Denae Zones, an early career educator; Wayne Pettit, a community volunteer; and Amy Siefert, a classroom teacher.

The awards are awarded based on three levels, Excellence, the highest award; Merit and Recognition. There were 46 statewide who were awarded Excellence, 55 awarded Merit and 80 awarded Recognition.

Text Only

Local Photo