Mt. Vernon Register-News

April 1, 2013

Contested races develop in townships


---- — MT. VERNON — Of the 16 townships in Jefferson County, only three races have developed for supervisor positions on the April 9 ballot.

Incumbent Jason Hulbert is being challenged by independent candidate Amanda K. Bean in Mt. Vernon Township. The remaining contested races are in Pendleton Township where Democrat Paul Manning and Republican Robert J. Kiefer will square off, and in Webber Township Democrat J. Mel Brookman faces Republican Kevin Young.

There are several contested races for township clerk — although some townships have no candidates at all — and for highway commissioner and township trustee.

Contested races, by township, are as follows:


Highway commissioner — Lance Hutchison (D), Bud Harris (R)

Township trustee (Vote for 4) — Darrell Sheridan (D), Sherry Williams (D), Michael Braddy (R), Bob Hood (R), Donald Kalahar (R).


Township clerk — Marvin Richardson (D), Ben Johnson (R).

Township trustee (Vote for 4) — Asa Buck (D), Wes Lampp (D), Randy Forby (D), Kerry Richardson (D), Ryan Grothoff (R), Stephen Modert (R), Steven Warner (R), Scott Flota (R).


Township trustee (Vote for 4) — Bryan Delaney (D), Alva "Butch" Shehorn (D), Christopher K. Bean (R), Greg Marlow (R), Steven W. Davis Sr. (R), Larry O. Wood (R).

Grand Prairie

Highway commissioner — Tony Foutch (D), Tony King (R).


Township trustee (Vote for 4) — Steve Hays, (D), Bradley E. Williams (D), Linda Smith (D), Shawn Utlaut (D), Johnnie L. Nelson (R).

Mt. Vernon

Township supervisor — Jason Hulbert (D), Amanda K. Bean (I); Township trustee (Vote for 4) — David Edmison (D), Brett N. Gibbs (D), Charles M. Given (D), Eddie M. Henry (D), Curt Mowrer (I), Nicholas Lemay (I).


Township supervisor — Paul Manning (D), Robert J. Kiefer (R); Township commissioner — Harold Dean Poole (D), Leslie D. Kemp (R); Township trustee (Vote for 4) — Cynthia Leeck (D), Douglas Gowler (D), Philip Hopkins (D), Jeff Sandy (D), Kerry G. Robertson (R), Tony D. Hines (I).


Highway commissioner — John Burkett (R), Edgar Mooney (D); Township trustee (Vote for 4) — Rod Mays (R), James Brett Burnes (R), Martin Miley (R), Walter E. Heckler (R), John Riley (D), Glen Meyers (D), Leslie Jay Simmons (D), Gary Goddard (D).


Township supervisor — J. Mel Brookman (D), Kevin Young (R); Township clerk — Janeen Belmont (D), Mike Charron (R); Highway commissioner — Robbie Drew (D), Michael Alan Hodgkinson (I); Township trustee (Vote for 4) — Jerry Vance (D), Kevin Baker (D), Justin Sneed (D), Rick McKinney (D), Timothy Marlow (R), Clifford Lindemann (R).

There are no contested races for multi township assessor in Bald Hill-Blissville-Elk Prarie, Farrington-Field, Casner-Grand Prarire, and Pendleton-Moores Prairie townships.