Mt. Vernon Register-News


October 15, 2013

Tedeschi new chief judge

MT. VERNON — The Second Judicial Circuit judges have chosen Franklin County Circuit Judge Thomas Tedeschi as the next chief judge.

Tedeschi will take over the duties of Chief Judge of the Second Judicial Circuit on Jan. 1, 2014. He was elected by fellow circuit judges at the quarterly judges meeting on Oct. 3. He will succeed Judge Stephen G. Sawyer, who will conclude his term as chief judge on Dec. 31.

The chief judge has general administrative authority over the circuit, under the Illinois Constitution. Duties of the chief judge include assignment of judges and court reporters to particular counties, dissemination of information to judges and officers of the court, administration of the circuit’s court services and probation department and interaction with the circuit clerks of each county represented by the Second Judicial Circuit.

The Second Judicial Circuit encompasses Jefferson, Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne and White counties and has 15 circuit judges and six associate judges. The chief judge’s office is located at the Jefferson County Justice Center in Mt. Vernon.

Tedeschi is a graduate of the Southern Illinois University Carbondale College of Law. He was previously employed as a probation officer, Franklin County State’s Attorney investigator, police officer and deputy sheriff in Franklin County. He served as an assistant state’s attorney in Franklin County and was elected to succeed Judge Loren P. Lewis on his retirement as Franklin County Resident Judge in December 2008.

Tedeschi is 45-years-old and resides in Benton with his wife and four children.

Text Only

Local Photo