Mt. Vernon Register-News


June 7, 2014

County Board race develops

MT. VERNON — Three Jefferson County Board seats will be contested in the Nov. 4 general election.

Races were already slated in Districts 1 and 7, but there is now a contested race in District 6.

Jeffrey Johnson of Mt. Vernon, a Democrat, filed before Monday’s deadline, challenging incumbent Jeff Williams of Bonnie.

Incumbent Steve Draege, a Republican, will be challenged by Jacob Frick in District 1; and a new representative will be elected in District 7 for Jim Laird, who is not seeking re-election. Mike Neuman of Waltonville, a Republican, will face Justin Fulkerson of Bonnie.

Clifford Lindemann, a Republican from Bluford, will be elected in District 8 for the seat being vacated by Vice-Chairman Don Rector. Lindemann defeated Mike Bullard in the primary.

County Board members with no opposition are: Republican Robert Watt in District 10 and Jeremy Hall, a Democrat, in District 11.

County Clerk Connie Simmons, a Democrat, and County Treasurer Dan Knox, a Republican, have no opposition in the general election, although independent candidates may file between June 16 and 23, according to Simmons, and write-in candidates will be accepted through Sept. 4.

After winning hotly-contested primary battles in the spring, sheriff candidates John Lewis, a Republican, and Travis Allen, a Democrat, are expected to draw voter interest. Lewis defeated candidates John Scott and David Morris while Lewis outlasted incumbent Roger Mulch and Joey Porter.

Text Only

Local Photo