Mt. Vernon Register-News


October 1, 2012

Mt. Vernon Conference to be held

MT. VERNON — — For 33 years, the Mt. Vernon Conference has been providing area educators and administrators with cutting-edge information to help area students.

This year, the conference will have sessions for teachers in different categories of teaching, such as physical education, math and English; in addition, information will be available about the new guidelines for teacher, principal and staff evaluations will be presented, according to Ron Daniels, Hamilton-Jefferson County Regional Superintendent of Schools.

“One thing we have done this year is work to make the sessions more relevant to what the schools are facing right now,” Daniels said. “We’ll be talking about aligning the curriculum to the common core standards, and offering sessions to teachers ...on the new standards of teaching and the ... Charlotte Danielson approach to evaluating teachers that has been adopted in the state.”

Daniels said the new evaluation process is slated to be implemented in all Illinois schools in 2014, and now is the time to acquaint principals and teachers with the new system.

The conference will be held Oct. 25 and 26, bringing teachers from throughout Southern Illinois to the campus of Mt. Vernon Township High School. The annual event is sponsored by Daniels; Larry Fillingim, regional superintendent of Edwards, Gallatin, Hardin, Pope, Saline, Wayne, White and Wabash counties; Matt Donkin, regional superintendent of Franklin and Williamson counties; and Keri Garrett, regional superintendent of Clinton, Marion and Washington counties.

The opening keynote speaker on Thursday, who will be in the auditorium from 9 to 10 a.m. is Jim Burgett, who will speak on “Moving from Doom to Zoom!” According to information on the conference, “Doom” is not a state of mind, it’s a reality. Burgett’s message will explain “doom” with current, easy to understand information. “Zoom” is a way of learning and teaching and while the economy is in “doom” kids are in “zoom” and teachers need to be there too. The keynote address will talk about the transition, why it is imperative and how to get there.

This year there will be a closing keynote speaker, Dan Wetzel of Neenah, Wis., who captivates audiences across the globe with his basketball performances and motivational speeches while also reaching people individually as a personal coach and instructor. His mission is to “Build People Up,” and help them turn their stumbling blocks into stepping stones for a successful future. In 1997, Wetzel began Day of Champions, Inc., a company he established to provide character-building programs for students and athletes. Wetzel was a part-time sports writer for his local newspaper until 2001, when he became a full-time speaker and basketball entertainer.

New to the conference is an all-day workshop featuring Meg Ormiston on “Teaching and Learning Common Core State Standards Through the Creative Use of Technology,” and an all-day workshop by Carolyn McKanders on “Developing Collaborative Groups Facilitation Skills for Group Effectiveness.”

There will be an administrator academy on “Employment of Teachers in Illinois after Education Reform” and on “Cutting Edge Tools for Zoom Leadership.”

Breakout session presenters include Air Evac Lifeteam, Nel Dayman, Tammy Dyson, Lillian Gerstner, Ed and Nancy Gorny, Laura Ing, John Lynn, Carol McCloud, Jeff Morris, Peta Patalas and Mike Adams, Gracia Roberson, Michael Schafstall, Kurt Strothmann and Becky Roane, Susan Bishop, Kari Docherty, Jeromy Franks, Ron  Glodoski, Melissa Harrison, Nick Loafman and Glen Eikenberry, Diana Mahinda, Sid Milliner and Bob Pemberton, Judges Tim Neubauer and David Overstreet, Joey Rhodes, Jason Ronna, Clyde Self, Heroic Train LLC., Melanie and Kara Andrews, Nancy Verhines, John Ward, Ali Whittington, Linda Walker, Coach Tom Wheeler, Meg Ormiston, Merry Rhoads and crew, Doug Creel and Scott Gamber, Marsha Garrett and Niki Wisniewski, Rich Frankenfeld, Melissa Lamczyk and Maridy Tso, Amanda McNear, Cathy Lemmon and Lora Marsh, Melanie Andrews, Susan Bishop and Butch Lockley, Darren Douglas, Brian Schwartz, Kendra Smiley, Kay Taylor, Jordan Wils and WOVSED Crew, Carol Biondo, Reba Boyer, Melinda Fiscus and Peggy Cain, Karhi Rhodus, Nitro Joe Higgs, Marilee Sprenger, Ledith Whitehall and Marsha Beard, Butch Wilson, Bob Damon, Jon Orech, and Dr. Nick Osborne.

For additional information about registration fees and the conference, call the Regional Office of Education at 244-8040 or by e-mail at Registration forms are available online at!mt-vernon-conference.

Text Only

Local Photo