Mt. Vernon Register-News


September 12, 2013

MVTHS Athletic Hall of Fame inductees announced



As a sophomore, she was on the first Lady Rams team to win a sectional. Her teams lost just 19 times in four seasons.

She played three years of softball, starting at second base as a junior and senior. She hit close to .500 her senior year.




1980-81 boys basketball


Keith Law coached the team, and the Rams finished the year 24-5.

Mt. Vernon placed second that season at the Centralia Holiday Tournament.

Members of the team included: Hall of Famer David Hodge, twins Mike and Scott Piper, Steve Fleming, Jeff Shaw, Ben Doggan, Terry Howard, Anthony Tomas, Jerome White, Dan Doillet, Curtis Martin, Byron Weld and Chris Disroe.

Fleming led the team in scoring with 416 points. Mike Piper tallied 357, and Jeff Shaw added 305.

The Rams season ended with a one-point loss to Effingham in the sectional final.


1988-89 boys track and field


Bruce Payne coached the Rams team that won the South Seven Conference meet and won the sectional championship.

Thirteen members of the team qualified for the state tournament in seven events. Those athletes were: Kendall Mays, Rashaun McGee, Truman Tucker, Jason James, Roy Nesbitt, Gary Hammerski, Mike Young, Donte Moore, Kenny Riley, Kerry Riley, Kevin Parker, Maurice Jones and Hall of Famer Jamar Sanders.

Hall of Famer Donte Moore was state champion in the 800 meters. Hall of Famer Jason James was also a member of the team and was the state high jump champion the previous season.

Text Only

Local Photo