Mt. Vernon Register-News

October 8, 2013

Meyer advances to golf sectional

Mt. Vernon places sixth as team

By Paul Hines


Nick Meyer was the lone advancing golfer for the Rams in Tuesday's regional.

Meyer shot a round of 83 and finished tied for 14th overall at Green Hills Golf Club.

He's been consistently in the one, two hole for us all year long,” Mt. Vernon coach Qunn McClure said. “I know each round he probably has a hiccup or two in there.

I think somewhere he had a big number but was able to, as they say, right the ship and battle through.”

Mt. Vernon's Kylan Hallam nearly joined his teammate in advancing but lost in a playoff.

The top three teams and top 10 individuals not on an advancing team qualify for the sectional round. Hallam finished with an 85 and tied for the 10th and final individual spot with three other players, forcing the playoff.

I know it didn't work out in his favor, but he played well this season and he started playing better toward the end of the season,” McClure said.

Centralia (316) won the team title by 10 strokes over Triad (326). Effingham and Salem tied with a 328 each. Effingham advanced to the sectional on the strength of a fifth-golfer tiebreaker. The Rams placed sixth overall with a 343. Other Mt. Vernon scores were: Ryan Campbell 87, Jackson Horton 88, Bryan Bain 103 and Chase Regenhardt 119.

Hopefully they're not satisfied with their season, and they want to get better,” McClure said.

Austin Buente of Triad was the regional medalist with a 73.


Okawville 1A regional

Woodlawn and Waltonville both advanced a golfer from the Okawville regional.

Woodlawn's Ronnie Brake finished with a round of 85. Waltonville's Sean Scott also qualified for the sectional with an 88.

Woodlawn placed sixth overall with a team score of 372. Waltonville was eighth with a 378. Nashville won the team title with a 301.


Carterville 1A regional

Hamilton County won the regional title with a team score of 317.

Landon Vaughan led the Foxes with a 72. Other Hamilton County scores were: Jon O'Daniel 76, Justin Reyling 84, Grant Vaughan 85, Nate Neal 87 and Nick Lasswell 95.