Mt. Vernon Register-News

State News

December 17, 2012

State concealed-carry laws fall into 4 categories


Illinois is the last state in the U.S. that bans the concealed carry of weapons in public, but a federal appeals court last week ruled it unconstitutional and ordered lawmakers to write a new law allowing it. Concealed carry laws fall into four categories, according to gun-control advocates.

—States where no permit is required for carrying concealed weapons: Alaska, Arizona, Vermont and Wyoming.

—States that may issue concealed-carry permits if law enforcement officials approve: California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island.

—States required to issue concealed-carry permits if applicants meet certain criteria: Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin.

—State where carrying concealed weapons is prohibited: Illinois.

Source: The Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence, The Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence.


Text Only
State News