Mt. Vernon Register-News

June 11, 2013

Scouts honor Bronze Award recipients


MT. VERNON — — Ten Girl Scouts from three different Jefferson County troops received the organization's second highest award Sunday.

During a ceremony at Green Hills Golf Club, the recipients earned Bronze Awards.

Those receiving awards from Troop 8609 include: Brianna Lynn McGehee, Brittany Danielle McGehee, Victoria Faith McGrath, and Julia Christine Meeks. From Troop 8643, awards were presented to Emmali Nyckole Petersen and Grace Hannah Seidel. Recipients of Troop 8623 were unable to attend, although they were recognized. They include: Olivia Grace Chandler, Terionna Tahlia Chandler, Kaylee Ann Szarek, and Destiny Jade Tate.

Troop 8609, under the direction of Donna McGehee and Aaron Walding, was recognized for the Easter celebration at the National Guard Armory; Troop 8643, under the direction of Sheila Jolly Scrivner, was recognized for their Trash to Treasures project at Arbor Day; and Troop 8623, under the direction of Julia Merriman and Crystal Webster, was recognized for being shelter helpers of Big Paws, Little Paws.

Niki Patton, a Gold Award recipient, congratulated the Bronze Award recipients.

"Girls, you are making history with your books. There is so much hard work that goes into your projects. You've shown dedication to the scouts and the community," she said.

Girl Scouts COO Susan Gurwitch also congratulated the 10 scouts.

"It's a privilege to be here today. It's one of my favorite things to do. I want to thank all of the troops and volunteers. What we do is a big deal. The staff is here to make sure you achieve your goals," she said.

Ruth Alexander, a lifetime member of Girl Scouts, added, "Girl Scouts makes the world smaller and girls bigger, and the girls we are honoring today have made a huge difference in the world."

Certificates of honor were presented to the scouts on behalf of Mayor Mary Jane Chesley, State Rep. Mike Bost and U.S. Rep. Bill Enyart.

Bluford Grade School's eighth grade ensemble closed out the program by singing "My Wish," dedicated to the day's honorees.