Mt. Vernon Register-News

November 29, 2012

Local students write letters to Santa


MT. VERNON — — Kindergartners at the Mt. Vernon Primary Center got some help from third graders to get their letters to Santa Claus with plenty of time to spare.

Mrs. Zgonina’s third grade class used the letter-writing skills they’ve been learning this semester to help Mrs. Helene Moore’s kindergarten class tell Santa what they would like to see under the Christmas tree.

The third graders instructed their protégés to write, “Dear Santa,” and them help them write their letter, including what they would like for Christmas, what any siblings might like, and other information like asking how Mrs. Claus and the reindeer are feeling.

“We do this every year,” Mrs. Moore said. “It’s like a ritual.”

Mrs. Zgonina said the teamwork activity brings out the best in all her students.

“Some of them may have some behavior issues at other times, but when they come over here to help the kindergartners, they are always on their best behavior,” she said.

Some items the kindergarten students requested on Wednesday are popular gift items every year, such as games, toys and dolls, but several of the students asked Santa for high-tech toys such as the Nintendo DS or iPads. One student, Eddie Grider, said he wants a real reindeer for Christmas.

After finishing their letters, the students sang Christmas songs such as “Santa Claus is Coming to Town,” “Jingle Bells,” and “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer.”

Mrs. Zgonina’s class is:  Jamariah Bell, Tyler Belmont, EmiJha Butler, Autumn Field, Gracie Garrison, Blaze Greathouse, Emily James, Adrean Johnson, Don’Ye Johnson, Faith Jones, Abby Lorenz, Cameron Mangrum, Zoe Merriman, Mick Neal, Kyla Rector, Dylan Russell, Landon Simpson, Conner Teriet, Ajaya Turnipseed, Addyson VanDyke and Tyler Witkowski.

Mrs. Moore’s class is:  Timberly Rowe, Samantha Brown, Emily Copple, Tayler Earnst, Kloie Fowler, JaNia Hamilton, Eva Keen, Aly Stutts, Haylee Tackitt, TyJah Wilborn, Selena Toomey, Laura Freeman, Owen Hilliard, Drake Henry, Kadin Jacoby, Elijah Nabors, Jae’Marion Peterson, Darsh Patel, ZaKareyon Richardson, Wyatt Sanders and Eddie Grider.